Affordable & Private  
Vacation Rental  
Home in Tahiti  

 

Welcome to Fare Hamara  
Welcome to paradise  


Reviews

Have you stayed with us? We would love you to share the experience!
Click here to submit a review.

The following are reviews from people who have visited Fare Hamara.

Rating/Date Review Source

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

October 29, 2013
Relaxing Stay!
Robert G.
- Date of Stay: October, 2013

Myself, my mother, father and sister stayed at Fare Hamara for 5 days. We all had a great time. Fare Hamara is very relaxing with fantastic views. I can't wait to visit again!
HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

September 19, 2013
“Fare Hamara - A wonderful retreat...”
A FlipKey verified reviewer,
Seattle - Date of Stay: August 2013

The house is situated above Opunohu bay with panoramic views of the bay and surrounding volcanic peaks. The wrap around deck is a wonderful place to hang out any time of day or night. Expect to wake up to luxury yachts or cruise liners that arrived in the bay overnight. While not on the beach, Fare Hamara is conveniently located to just about anything. There is a public beach less than a mile away with good snorkeling and picnic areas. Take a left or right out of the drive way and drive for 15 minutes, and you will find yourself in one of the local villages with markets, hotels, and centers of activity.

Be sure to check out the island shrimp farm on Wednesdays where you can buy fresh local shrimp and take home for a great meal. You might also be tempted by the fresh Mahi which hangs on the roadside for far less than you would pay in any grocery store. We spent our mornings taking in island activities, and our afternoons were mostly spent taking in the sun and enjoying cool cocktails on the deck at the house.
No need for converters here, the house is wired as if it was in the us. And the neighboring caretaker, Jacques, is a great resource for guests with questions.

It can be quite a haul getting here, but once you're here, you will forget all about it.
Trip Advisor

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

September 19, 2013
Really get away in Fare Hamara
Nick N.
- Date of Stay: August 2013

The location is great with stunning views of the surrounding island and Opunohu Bay. The house is centrally located on the island (you can only get so far from anything considering it take roughly 90 minutes to drive around the whole island). If you drive 15 to 20 minutes in either direction you will hit the local villages, resorts, supply stores, and centers of activity. There is a public beach with good snorkeling and picnic areas.

The house is great as well with all the things you might need to be comfortable. BBQ, oven, stove, microwave, etc are all there for your convenience.

For activities and recommendations, just ask Jacques (the caretaker) or the guest book which has plenty of reviews and good suggestions for keeping busy.

If busy isn't your thing, pack plenty of reading materials and just hang out on the deck in the sun.

Can't go wrong with an extended stay at Fare Hamara.
HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

June 4, 2013
Dream Home
k, Melbourne,
Florida - Date of Stay: May 2013

Our recent stay at Fare Hamara was exactly what we were looking for in a vacation rental. It was a beautiful property, clean and centrally located on the island. The photos did indeed reflect the property's appearance and amenities. The owner as well as the caretaker answered our many questions and provided helpful advice about what to do and what to expect on our first trip to French Polynesia. We loved Albert's ATV tour, the Lagoonarium where you swim with black tip sharks, and though expensive, highly recommend the Polynesian show at the Tiki Village. Also, even though most of the tour companies will pick you up, rent a car to get around the island. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to go back sometime. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us.
HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

May 27, 2013
Wonderful Stay at Fare Hamara
SeesMast, Sexsmith, AB Canada - Date of Stay: May 2013

My husband and i recently stayed at Fare Hamara for one week. Right from the get go the owners were great to deal with. They even held the week for me while i got my flights sorted out. The property was stunning! The view from the deck was the absolute best way to end the day.

The onsite caretaker Jacques was awesome and he was amazing to deal with as well, even emailed us before our week to touch base and see if we needed anything (we were arriving on Sunday and everything is closed on Sunday). When we arrived he walked us through the house and took the time to explain everything to us that we really didn't need to bug him for most of the week. (although we felt very comfortable that if we had needed to ask him anything he would be more then willing to help).

We had an unfortunate wasp invasion during our stay which made it difficult to enjoy the beautiful deck during the hottest time of the day, however we found that we were out exploring most of the time during this time period so it wasn't an issue for us. Jacques hooked us up with a can of Raid and that turned out to be a lot of help. By the time we got home to enjoy the sunset, the wasps were not an issue at all.

One of the things we loved most was learning more about how Bob and Mary acquired the property. They have a binder with information about the island and themselves. it added such a nice personal touch to our vacation.

We couldn't believe that we had all that space to ourselves for a very reasonable price. You would be crazy to stay at one of the resorts over Fare Hamara, you get way more space and seclusion and a much MUCH better view. LOVED every minute and would go back in a heart beat. Thank you Bob and Mary for letting us share your amazing home, and thank you Jacques for all of your help. We just fell in love with your property and feel very lucky and blessed to have stayed here.
HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

October 17, 2012
Paradise!
GaryS, El Paso, Texas - Date of Stay: September 2012

Even though our expectations were high, Fare Hamara on the island of Moorea did not disappoint! The villa is comfortable and the views of the surrounding mountains and Opunohu Bay from the deck are simply stunning. The property caretaker, Jacque, was friendly, helpful and had lots of tips and recommendations for things to do and see on the island. The villa was well appointed, spotlessly clean and even better than advertised. The owners were very accommodating and provided excellent instructions, directions and recommendations prior to arrival. We are especially grateful for the owners' flexibility. We had to cancel our original trip at the very last minute, and Bob graciously allowed us to simply reschedule for a later date without charge or hassle. Thanks for everything, Bob and Jacques. We will be back!
HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

September 12, 2012
You have found the best place!
Cheri F. - Date of Stay: August 2012

This home is perfect for travelers that enjoy experiencing their destination to its fullest. The home is as described and is clean and very well kept. There is a care taker nearby but not intrusive, to answer questions, make suggestions, and give you general information and great tips. The home is equipped with the comforts of your own home so you can relax and just enjoy the island. The views from the deck are incredible, the communication with the owner and care taker is easy and excellent, and the location on Opunohu Bay is one of the best places you can be on the island. There is a beautiful beach within 5 min. of the house, and a couple small groceries along with many places to eat within 10-15 minutes. I would suggest renting a 4 wheel drive for navigating the drive to the house as it is steep and mostly gravel, but not necessary as a regular car will work.
We have been many places around the world, staying in homes instead of resorts, and this by far was our best vacation and most enjoyable place to stay.
HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

September 3, 2012
The Place Your Dreams Go While You're awake
The Bartells
- Date of Stay: August 2012

Fare Hamara is a gorgeously-situated, well-maintained, spacious cabin overlooking Opunohu Bay. It's dazzling, but that's only half of it! The view from the back deck is equally stunning: Mt. Mouroa stands watch through its many moods as the Sun and clouds have their way with it. Blue waters, volcanic peaks, fruit and shade trees, sweeping palms, jet-dark skies lit only by the brilliant Milky Way...

Opunohu Bay is undeveloped and unspoilt. There are just a few houses along the water, and almost none on the hillsides. This was a big advantage for us; we were interesting in a retreat, even from the comforts of luxury resorts. All activities are minutes away by car.

The american-style kitchen is well-equipped. No a/c but in august we never needed the many ceiling & floor fans. There is a small TV and DVD selection with a CD player that accepts MP3 disks and iPod input (bring a cable.)

Master BR is huge, w/ big closet, small safe. Second BR comfortable with plenty of closet space. Mattresses great. Huge great room has two couches that make beds, and there are two mattresses for additional sleepers. Picture windows, walk-outs all around - bright and airy. High ceiling has screened windows that let tropical breezes tumble through all night.

Many supplies such as a cooler, beach gear, binocs, crib, bug repellents (we had very few bugs), bulbs and such. On-site caretaker (adjacent to main house ) a great bilingual resource who can give tours.

Plenty of us outlets around the house, with adaptors for the local standard. Wifi broadcast from caretaker bungalow; signal weak on the far side of property. No matter - we came to unplug, though it was nice to check in now and then.

I recommend Fare Hamara in this way: I wish I lived there! The only caveat is that this is not a full-service hotel, so if that's what you want, look elsewhere. Otherwise, Fare Hamara will waft through your soul like no other place.
Trip Advisor

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

July 23, 2012
Perfect Island Retreat
Lisa T. - Date of Stay: July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Fare Hamara for 4 days while visiting Moorea and it exceeded our expectations in every way. First, the setting was absolutely stunning! This trip included visits to several Polynesian islands (Raiatea, Huahine, Taha'a. and Bora Bora) and Moorea was by far our favorite. The house, which is perched atop a large hill at the end of Opunohu Bay, has a fabulous view of the from both the deck and the kitchen window (which made doing the breakfast dishes a welcome chore). And at night the stars are so bright, because of the complete lack of light pollution, that they appear to be literally spilling from the sky. The house was also very well appointed with two large bedrooms, a very nice, well-stocked, kitchen/living area, and a magnificent bathroom. Don't let the fact that the later is separated from the house be a downside...it is just a step away and includes a double shower (with great water pressure) and a double vanity. Jacques, the caretaker, was especially awesome! Not only was he super friendly, but he went out of his way to help us with arrangements, restaurant and nightlife recommendations, and daily activities. And when my husband and I got to the ferry wharf and realized we had forgotten one of our bags and there wasn't time to drive back to house to get it without missing our ferry, Jacques graciously jumped into his car and raced the bag to us! We have stayed at many VRBO properties in the past and this was, without doubt, one of our very best experiences. We will be going back and we will be staying at Fare Hamara!
HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

May 18, 2012
Absolutely Awesome!!
Bodie B. - Date of Stay: May 2011

Wow, how do you put a place like this into words? It was beyond excellent. I can't tell you how much I appreciate Bob Hammar and Jacques, both of them were so incredibly helpful and honest before our trip and while we were there. They went out of their way to help a rookie on his first trip to FP. Everything was exactly as advertised, if Bob or Jacques tell you how things will be, you can bank on it. The island is incredibly amazing, my wife and I fell in love with it. It is the perfect destination for us because we love the mountains, hiking, coral, snorkeling, and culture, but we're not big on commercialized hub-bub. Moorea has everything you need in terms of groceries, rental cars, restaurants, even a fabulous patisserie and internet cafe. But yet it is not crowded and you see more local residents than tourists. I don't know if I will ever get to go back, but if I do, I'll stay here every time. And if I ever win the lottery, my first phone call is to Bob Hammar to buy Fare Hamara (ha!). You absolutely must eat at Allo Pizza (I highly recommend getting the white cream sauce rather than marina/tomato sauce) and Patisserie Caramaline nearby. If you have any doubts about whether to go, do it, or where to stay, stay here. Best trip of my life!
HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

April 27, 2012
Fare Hamara
George F.
- Date of Stay: April 2012

Fantastic elevated location and vista of the bay. it was great value for money with caretaker Jacque on hand offering great tips of what to do in Moorea. The grounds and dwelling were beautifully maintained - the house had everything we needed to enjoy our holiday. The shower/bathroom area is large enough to be a garage. The outside shower was great for washing off excess sand after a day at the beach. In our opinion the nearby beach had the best snorkelling and swimming on the Island. Great restaurant, eateries, attractions, and activities handy to house.
HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

February 2, 2012
Can't wait to return
Julia L
. - Date of Stay: January 2012

We loved our stay at Fare Hamara - a perfect place to relax after a very busy 2011. It's a very special home with stunning views, amazing sunsets, and starlit nights. The property is well equipped with everything we needed, including a good kitchen which enabled us to eat in every night. We'll be back.
HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

February 2, 2012
Shangri-la
Trip Advisor Verified Reviewer
- Date of Stay: January 2012

We had a blissful five nights at Fare Hamara before a cruise. If you want an overpriced over water bungalow this is not the place - but if you'd prefer to experience some of the real Moorea this is for you. Fare Hamara is a very special home: you can feel the hard work and love that has gone into the property and grounds. It was great to have space, peace and quiet, stunning views, and be able to cook for ourselves (very well equipped supermarkets) and stay in. And as for check-in, you couldn't do better than a personal welcome from the caretaker Jacques at the port. We're already reserving our place for 2013...
Trip Advisor

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

December 22, 2011
Paradise with all the comforts of home
TripAdvisor Verified Reviewer - Reviewed for a stay in October 2011

We loved staying at the house! Private accommodations with all the comforts of home, but close to everything. Best place to have a drink and watch the sunset from the deck. The owners have thought of everything in stocking the house ~ full kitchen, washer/dryer, even stuff on loan for the beach. We hope to get back to this lovely place in paradise soon.
Trip Advisor

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

September 7, 2011
Awesome views from the comfort of "home
kbee5 -  Reviewed for a stay in August 2011

After booking last minute tickets to Tahiti, I saw Fare Hamara on the Moorea website and decided I HAD to stay here. Unfortunately it was already booked for most of the dates of our stay. Bob graciously agreed to let us come for the 2 nights he had open (the minimum is usually 5) and was very helpful in giving us the name of a Fare in Tahiti the night we arrived, and the best time for the Amereti ferry the next day. He emailed a lot of information useful for our stay on the island, from rental cars, to grocery shopping, to reliable pearl shops, to fun things to do. Booking with an American owner made it easy to communicate and make our reservation. Now for the Good stuff. The views from the living room, kitchen, and deck were awesome! The kitchen was well stocked, there was a BBQ grill on the deck, and we picked fresh grapefruit right off the tree in the back yard for breakfast. Jacque, the caretaker, lives just down the hill and was also a great resource for things to do. We brought our own snorkel gear, and there is a lovely public beach just minutes from Fare Hamara with some of the best snorkeling on the island (and recommended by locals). The chance to relax in the comfort of home was better than going to the spa. Next visit I am booking well in advance, bringing the family, and spending all my time at the beautiful Fare Hamara!
Trip Advisor

4 of 5 Stars
4 of 5 stars

August 25, 2011
What a view!
TandJTours - Date of Stay: August 2011

We loved our stay at Fare Hamara. The house is well equipped for preparing your own meals, as well as everyday needs such as mosquito coils and beach mats/towels. The owner was very helpful when we missed our flight to Tahiti, and the caretaker is a wealth of information. How we enjoyed watching those sunsets! And the stars were incredible! We would go back in a heartbeat.
HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

August 9, 2011
Surreal Views
Gwenn C. - Date of Stay: June 2011

My husband and I spent eight nights at Fare Hamara. It has the most incredible views on Moorea! The house is well maintained and stocked with everything you will need. The owner was amazing to work with. Jacques is nearby to help if needed. The house is a great deal as well. Nice location for exploring the island. You will be thrilled to stay here!!
HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

August 3, 2011
Quiet, affordable
B.H.
- Date of stay - July 2011

We have spent 16 nights at Fare Hamara. It is located in a very good location in Opunohu Bay, the nicest of the 2 bays Moorea has. The views from the deck are breathtaking and just by spending the time there it is worth the trip to Moorea. I will no repeat here the description of the place, but I can confirm that it is accurate. It is a perfect place for 4 people to share, and even more. We had a party of 8 trying to save the costs and it worked perfectly for us. I liked the most the fact that the bathroom is in a separate building linked by a roof to the main building. For a large party like ours having a separate bathroom helped to isolate the sleepers from the noises made by the bathroom goers. This is a smart design.

The house is equipped with everything a guest may need and it is an ideal place for North Americans, as the house has 120V sockets throughout the house, so no adapters are required. Depending on the season you have access to a variety of fruit trees which surround the house.

The access to the house is one that attracted me the most as it is going uphill for a couple of hundred meters and it puts a distance and sound buffer between the main road and the house. The only noise you will hear is from the roosters who can sing at any time, but you get used to it and coming home you may miss it. Given the distance from main groceries stores I think that a car rental is required, although if you want to go only to the nearby beach you can manage without a car, but barely.

There is a recently Tropical Garden opened just less then 1Km from the Fare Hamara towards Maharepa. I highly recommend going there. The people are very friendly and produce a variety of jams and syrups from local fruits. They have a greenhouse and several plantations of pineapples, banana trees, guavas, etc. A trip to the Lycee Agricole is also worth a trip. You will see a mini botanical garden and large pineapple plantations.

Jacques, the caretaker is very friendly and knowledgeable. He will provide you invaluable information about the surroundings. On another note, if you don't want to spent a fortune on potable water (350 XPF for 5L jar) you can go to the Carrefour/Champion supermarket and fill up the same quantity for 60 XPF.

For adventure seekers: diving -Scubapiti, for mountaineering - Tahiti Evasion, call Michel. The trip for seeing whales and dolphins I can't recommend, you may be disappointed.

Enjoy your stay at Fare Hamara, it is worth it
HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

August 9, 2011
Surreal Views
Eddie G - Date of stay - June, 2011

My husband and I spent eight nights at Fare Hamara. It has the most incredible views on Moorea! The house is well maintained and stocked with everything you will need. The owner was amazing to work with. Jacques is nearby to help if needed. The house is a great deal as well. Nice location for exploring the island. You will be thrilled to stay here!!
HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

July 15, 2011
Outstanding Views
Trip Advisor Reviewer
- Reviewed for a stay in June 2011

We stayed at Fare Hamara for eight nights. The owner was extremely helpful and kind beyond words when we ran into some travel difficulties. There are windows that wrap around the house with amazing views of the mountains, palm trees, and the bay in every direction you look. The house is clean, comfortable, and well supplied. The caretaker is very helpful and respects your privacy. Everything about our stay at Fare Hamara was perfect and I highly recommend this vacation rental. It is also a good value!!
Trip Advisor

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

May 31, 2011
Wonderful location and value!
KB, Date of stay May, 2011

My husband and I spent 15 nights in FP celebrating our 3rd anniversary (1 night Tahiti at Manava Suites, 5 nights Moorea at Fare Hamara, 4 nights Taha’a at Vahine Island, and 5 nights Bora Bora at the St. Regis). Fare Hamara was a wonderful way to start our trip. The views are spectacular, the location is convenient, and the home is very comfortable. Jacques was available when we needed him, but otherwise we would have never known he was there. We enjoyed homemade breakfasts, reading and stargazing on the porch overlooking the bay

The king bedroom is spacious with a large closet with lots of hangers and shelves. The bathroom is across the covered porch outside and was very comfortable. Though there's no AC, with the fans and breeze from outside, it was tolerable during the day, and the nights actually got a bit cool. The driveway up to the house is rather steep, but the location feels close to nearly everything, yet so private.

The only small negative was that the washer was broken during our stay, but since it was the beginning of our trip anyway, this wasn't too much of a disappointment. I am sure it was much more frustrating for Jacques to try to replace the part than it was for us to hand wash a couple of things! We also appreciated Bob's responsiveness to all my questions, both by email and on Tripadvisor.

With such great communication and a caretaker on property, I am confident that in the off chance something went wrong, Bob and Jacques would take care of it quickly. Overall, this a fantastic property. We would love to stay here again one day, especially in the future when we have children, as there's plenty of room for a family here.

Owner response: We are so sorry about the washing machine! It was fixed the day after checkout.
HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

May 13, 2011
Seclusion with a View!
RG
, Date of Stay: April 2011

Beautiful 8 sided cedar home located on the side of a mountain with everything you need and a great view. Fully equipped kitchen, BBQ, spacious 2 bedrooms,180 degree view from the deck of Obay and Sharks tooth. April was still in the rainy season...lots of rain. Great owners and caretaker.
Trip Advisor

July, 2008 I would give this property a 10 out of 10!
lelarue, Date of Stay: June, 2008

If you are traveling to Moorea, I highly recommend staying at Fare Hamara.

This was our second trip to Moorea, so we knew what to expect from the island. However, we didn't know what to expect from the rental house, Fare Hamara. I can tell you now, that we were very impressed!

The website photos do not do justice to the house. You really need to see it for yourself.

Your rental fees include rides to and from the Moorea airport by the caretaker, Jacques. He was interesting and thoughtful from the minute he picked us up.

Once we arrived at the house, we were blown away. The house is huge. The view is breathtaking. The furnishings are comfortable. The kitchen has tons of gadgets. It had everything we could have thought of that we might need.

The house is set on a hill away from the road. It is private enough that you can walk around in your bathing suit, but close enough to town that you can easily walk to the beach or small shops. There is a beautiful public beach and small grocery store within a mile of the house. We walked there every day for a fresh chocolate croissant and a swim.

The owners, Bob and Mary, were very nice and professional. The caretaker, Jacques, was always there to help us when we needed him, yet he stayed out of our hair when we wanted privacy.

Overall, I would give this property a 10 out of 10! I will definitely go back.

Trip Advisor Forum

Dec 9, 2010 Trip Report!! Tahiti-Moorea-Bora Bora-Tikehau 
Posted by Shully

...We also saw Fare Hamara and visited with the owner, it was great to finally meet in paradise! This two bedroom rental home has awesome views of Opunohu Bay, the lagoon & Mt Mou’a Roa. The house has a huge wrap around deck, large living area, a full kitchen & gigantic stylish bathroom. A great property for two couples or a family wishing to self cater...

Trip Advisor Forum

4 of 5 Stars
4 of 5 stars

Nov 10, 2010
We had a wonderful time at Fare Hamara
Sue
San Diego, USA, Date of Stay: November, 2010

The location and view are simply superb! Our teenage sons loved it. The house is very well equipped, and the resident care taker was very helpful in every way. The owner provided us with very useful pre-trip information. It should perhaps be noted in the description that the bath house is separate from the main dwelling. Also, the really nasty mosquitoes and other insects should be highlighted. Nets might help. Overall, however, our Moorea stay was one of my most cherished vacations!

Owner's Response: The Welcome Packet has been changed to reflect that the bath is in a separate building less than five feet from the house with a connecting roof. We have electric mosquito atomizers and have never a problem with mozzies. The house and bath are fully screened.

HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

Sep 27, 2010
In 8 weeks and 15 islands this was our favorite place
Sea People
- Lincoln. Date of Stay: July, 2010

We absolutely loved Fare Hamara. It was perfect for our family of five and we would go back in a heartbeat. A cozy, well-equipped, charming house, ideal for those looking for alternative accommodation in the islands. Not for the over-water-bungalow crowd.

Trip Advisor

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

Aug 31, 2010
Rustic Jungle Seclusion-Majestic Moorea and Opunohu Bay
hollyhiker
- Arizona. Date of Stay: August, 2010

We have been to Moorea 4 times since 2004 and have stayed at resort hotels in overwater bungalows, beach bungalows and cruised on the Star Flyer from the StarClippers Fleet. Nothing compares to Fare Hamara. The location, the privacy, views and seclusion made this the best vacation we have ever experienced. We wanted to experience living like a local, and we truly felt this was our home for the short 5 days we were here! We rented a car, bought all groceries at the local market, chicken on the side of the road and baguettes for our meals. We cooked every meal at "home", and with all the utensils and appliances, was very easy.

We loved just hanging out at "home" and reading the books and magazines, and taking pictures of the flowers and plants on the property. We brought all our own alcohol from the us, to keep costs down and to have our favorites at hand! From coffee on the deck each morning to happy hour sunsets at night, the views and peacefulness could not be better! We already are planning to go back next year, this will be our "home away from home" from now on (and will stay longer than 5 days)!

Thanks to Jacques, the caretaker, just a phone call or short walk away, took care of any needs we had. Can't wait to hear more of his stories and learn more about Tahiti and some French next visit!

Trip Advisor

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

Feb. 26, 2010
arden - Boulder, Co

This is a great little place to stay!!! You cannot beat the views from the deck and you are close to public beaches and shopping.

VRBO

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

Oct 18, 2009
Chris R - Tempe, AZ

We had a wonderful time at Fare Hamara, thank you. The house was equipped with everything we needed. The shower was awesome, the driveway fun, the grounds beautiful and the view was outstanding!!! Thanks again and I hope we make it there again some day.

VRBO

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

July 15, 2009
Idyllic location
hpotnan
- Arizona - Date of Stay: June 2009

The location of this house was terrific, on a hill with lush foliage overlooking beautiful Opunohu Bay, private and quiet, yet close to nearby towns & shops. House was very clean and the kitchen had everything we might need (except microwave). Really good screens- so no mosquito problem. It was a great help to be met at the ferry by the caretaker who assisted with luggage and stocked a few food items for our Sunday arrival. Beds were very comfortable, with ceiling fans and high ceilings providing good air circulation which made sleeping great. Location of the house fairly high up on the hill makes this a fabulous spot with beautiful breezes - though not a real easy walk home if you like to walk everywhere.

It was a short drive to good snorkeling at the pretty public beach not far from the house, or to shopping, or good 'snack shops' that we found had excellent less-expensive food. The guest book has some very helpful suggestions for things to do on the island, and the owner was very friendly and helpful prior to our arrival. The house is really lovely, and we spent every morning on the wrap-around porch enjoying the incredible view and changing colors of Opuhonu Bay. We would definitely return!!
P.S. double check the ferry schedule - ours was changed at the last minute due to a 'holiday' that we never knew anything about. We got the last ferry that day to Moorea, 10:30 AM!!!, thanks to help from a very nice local Polynesian in Papeete]

Owner's Response: We listen to your comments! We now have a microwave in the kitchen.

HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

June 1, 2009
Privacy in Paradise
chillphx
- Phoenix, Arizona - Date of Stay: May 2009

Just returned from our 4th trip to Moorea and loved this site.
Lovely home offers privacy and terrific views of the bay. Well equipped with all the modern American required conveniences minus a microwave. Suggest renting the open air Suzuki from Avis to tour the island and climb the hill up to the home. Homeowner provides excellent pretravel guide and suggestions.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

April 24, 2009
The Shangri La of the South Pacific
The Shark -  Sacramento, CA - Date of Stay: April 2009

The views, and sunsets, from this private home on Opunohu Bay (which is mostly undeveloped) are simply out of this world. The incredible privacy of this place, its comfort, as well as the ability to prepare some, or all, of your own meals are major selling points in my view. I have stayed in this home on three occasions (once with friends, once with my 70+ year-old parents, and once with my husband on our 1st anniversary) and on every one of these occasions the experience has been fantastic. To take best advantage of all there is to see and do on Moorea, plan on renting a small car while you are there. The caretaker, Jacques, is a wealth of information about the island. This phenomenal place is truly one-of-a-kind and highly recommended!

HomeAway

5 out of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars

April 12, 2009
A home away from home in Paradise
Norm and Marolyn
- United States - Date of Stay: March 2009

This home has the best view of any facility in Moorea, and is absolutely private. It is 100 yards off the road, and no one can see it. We just spent 3 weeks there, and this was our 4th time back. We think Moorea is the most beautiful of the Pacific Islands, and the view from here is gorgeous of both the ocean and mountains. The kitchen is as fully equipped as most homes, including a gas BBQ.

The outside deck circles the house, sunsets are fabulous. Seven of us spent hours on the deck every morning and night watching yachts, cruisers, outrigger canoes, tropical bay, and ocean waves on the outside reef, all at the same time from a distance that no one could see us. Jacques, the caretaker, was available at our call, and a great host and Island guide whenever we so requested. We have taken friends on previous trips, who have returned twice since on their own.

The house and yard are immaculate, and bathroom is spacious and very nice indeed. We have three scuba divers in our group, and the rest are snorklers. All agree these beaches and waters are plentiful with fish, and as good as it gets. We caught and purchased local fish, and cooked most of our meals right there at Fare Hamara.

HomeAway